What You’ve Made of Me

I am all the things you’ve made me
all the crippling self-doubt,
the impatient
the terrified dreamer
the reckless lover
the late night confession
the non believer
the early morning regrets

I bear all these proudly.

I do not turn away from the past,
I do not yield to what you’ve done
I do not pretend I am someone
other than the person you helped me become.

I will own my sins
casually mention them in conversation
like they are just a story of legends
because they have no power over me anymore

I am all the things you’ve made me
all the careless words I said
the anxious heart
the sympathetic touch
the passionate downfall
the inadequate friend
the caution
the hope of far flung hopes

I display them openly.

I do not hide away in anguish
I do not push them aside
I do not overlook
the temper of such devastation

I will own my sins and yours
but I will not give into them
like they are everything that I am
or will ever be.

I am more than what you made me out to be.

Leave a Reply

