Paris

“Come to Paris with me.”
She said it with such ease. Like we do it all the time.

“You know I can’t”
It doesn’t work like that. I don’t have that kind of time.

“But you’ve always wanted to go.”
Believe me, I know. It’s just not a good time.

“I want a lot of things.”
I want to fly without wings. Dreaming is not a crime.

“I’m telling you this is our chance.”
It sounds nice and all at a glance. But all I’ve got are nickels and dimes.

“Maybe in a few years.”
After we’ve gotten settled in our careers. When the weather’s prime.

“But we could go now. Today.”
We can’t just run away. Where we are is just fine.

“I’ve got too much work to do.”
This is really nothing new. And I always lack the time.

“We can see the Eiffel Tower and eat too much cheese.”
It sounds romantic, but we can’t just leave.

I shake my head in amused reply.

She turns away with a sigh.

And I call out to her,
“I wish things could be different”

She looks back to say,
“That’s the thing, they can be, but you refuse to try.”

Leave a Reply

